SEMPAC >> About Us
Community Partners

SEMPAC Community Partners are an integral part of our research, community outreach and training efforts. All partners serve on the Community Advisory Committee, and many, based on preference, serve on either the Research Advisory Committee for one of our two research projects, or on our Community Advisory Committee. We are committed to the principles of Community Based Participatory Research (CBPR), and our partners make this possible.

Through the dedication of all of the SEMPAC community partners, we are committed to making a difference in the lives of older African Americans in the metropolitan Detroit area. To join us, or for more information, please contact Carie Francis at 313.576.8285 or via email at francisc@karmanos.org

 

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

 Ron Beford, MBA, RAC P
Interfaith Health and Hope Coalition

Beford & Associates LLC
Suite 110 #124
9864 East Grand River
Brighton, MI 48116

Telephone:
Fax:
Email: rbeford@yahoo.com  

 


 

Ronald Borngessor, RAC
Chief Executive Officer

Oakland Livingston Human Service Organization (OLHSA)
196 Cesar E. Chavez Avenue
PO Box 430598
Pontiac, MI 48343-0598

Telephone: 248-209-2600
Fax:
Email:

 




Patti Brookover, RAC F
Director, Cancer Control Section
Michigan Department of Community Health

Capitol View Building
201 Townsend Street
Lansing, Michigan 48913

Telephone: 517-335-9620
Fax:
Email: BrookoverP@michigan.gov  

 


 

Elizabeth (Betty) Brooks
Josephine Ford Cancer Center Advisory Board
1771 Seminole
Detroit, MI 48214

Telephone: 313-571-2902
Cell:313-231-9652
Fax: 313-571-9084

Email: Brooks.c5459@sbcglobal.net

 


 

Bob Brown
Executive Director
The Senior Alliance (TSA)

Area Agency on Aging 1-C
3850 Second Street, Suite 100
Wayne, MI 48184

Telephone: (734) 722-2830
Fax: (734) 722-2836
Email:

 


 

Robert Burack, MD, MPH
Principle Investigator, BCCCP
Karmanos Cancer Institute
University Internal Medicine Specialists

4201 St. Antoine- 5C University Health Center
Detroit, MI 48201

Telephone: 313-577-5519
Alternate:
Fax: 313-745-4707

Email: burack@med.wayne.edu  

 


 

The Honorable Hansen Clarke
United States House of Representatives
1319 Longworth HOB
Washington, DC 20515

Telephone: 202-225-2261
Fax: 202-225-5730
Email:

 


 

Sheilah Clay, MA, RAC F
Executive Director

Neighborhood Services Organization
220 Bagley, Suite 1200
Detroit, MI 48226

Telephone: 313-961-4890
Email: sclay@nso-mi.org  

 


 

 

Rev. Dr. John Duckworth, RAC F
Council of Baptist Ministers

Interfaith Health and Hope Coalition
29066 Eton Street
Westland, Michigan 48186

Telephone: 734.721.2557
Fax: 734.721.1383
Email: pastorjed@gethsemane2.org  

 


 

Myron Frasier, RAC F
Board of Directors, Karmanos Cancer Institute

Southfield City Council
23460 Brandywynne
Southfield, MI 48034

Telephone: 248-352-6246
Alternate: 248-514-9602
Fax:
Email: mfrasier@ameritech.net  

 


 

Linda Gifford, MBA
Cancer Center Administrator

Henry Ford Health System
2799 West Grand Boulevard
Detroit, MI 48202-2689

Telephone: 313-916-1078
Fax: 313-916-3235
Email: lwinesk1@hfhs.org  

 


 

Denise Hill
Manager, BCCCP Patient Services

Karmanos Cancer Institute
4100 John R VE01BC
Detroit, MI 48201

Telephone: 248-304-2301
Fax: 248-304-2362
Email: hilld@karmanos.org  

 


 

James Jackson, PhD
Director and Research Professor
Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan
Daniel Katz Distinguished University
Professor of Psychology

426 Thompson Street
Room 5010 ISR/P.O. Box 1248
Ann Arbor, MI 48106-1248

Telephone: 734-763-2491
Fax: 734-615-3212
Email: jamessj@umich.edu  

 


 

Karen Jennings
BCCCP Coordinator, Oakland County

Ingham County Health Department
5303 S. Cedar
PO Box 30161
Lansing, MI 48909

Phone: 517-887-4421

Email: kjennings@ingham.org  

 


 

Gloria Hicks Long, RAC P
Deputy Director

Detroit Area Agency on Aging
1333 Brewery Park Blvd., Suite 200
Detroit, MI 48207-2635

Telephone: 313-446-4444 x5226
Fax: 313-446-4445
Email: longG@DAAA1A.org  

 


 

Mary Malloy, CAE. RAC F
Executive Director
Michigan Society of Hematology and Oncology
3630 Rockingham
Royal Oak, MI 48073

Telephone: 248-549-1440
Alternate: 800-456-3413
Fax: 248-569-1270
Email: mmalloy@msho.org  

 


 

Tina Abbate Marzolf
Chief Executive Director
Area Agency on Aging 1-B
29100 Northwestern Hwy., Suite 400

Southfield, MI 48034
Telephone: (248) 262-9200
Fax:
Email: tabbatemarzolf@aaa1b.com  

 


 

Maureen Keenan Meldrum, OAC
Chair, Komen Detroit Race for the Cure
Karmanos Cancer Institute VE01RF

Vaitkevicius Community Service Center
24601 Northwestern Highway
Southfield, MI 48075
Telephone: 248-304-2082
Fax: 248-204-2081
Email: meldrumm@karmanos.org  

 


 

Voncile Brown Miller, RAC F
Division Manager of Health Disparity Programs
Great Lakes Division, Inc.

American Cancer Society
Southfield Area Service Center
20450 Civic Center Drive
Southfield, MI 48076

Telephone: 248-663-3416
Alternate: 313-590-7394
Fax: 248-663-3409
Email: voncile.brown-miller@cancer.org  

 


 

Victoria Rakowski, RN, ET
Executive Vice President of Medical Activities
American Cancer Society

Great Lakes Division, Inc.
1755 Abbey Road
East Lansing, MI 48823-1907

Telephone: 517-332-2222
Fax: 517-664-1497
Email: vicki.rakowski@cancer.org  

 


 

Karen Schrock, RAC F
President and CEO

Adult Well Being Services
1423 Field St.
Detroit, MI 48214

Telephone: 313-825-2410
Fax: 313-924-0350
Email: kschrock@awbs.org
Tanjia Wilkerson, assistant
Alternate: twilkerson@awbs.org  

 


 

 

Lucille Smith, RAC F
Director

Voices of Detroit Initiative
4201 St. Antoine- University Health Center
Detroit, MI 48201

Telephone: 313-832-4246
Alternate:
Fax: 313-832-4308
Email: slucille@med.wayne.edu  

 


 

Marie Verheyen
Oakland Livingston Human Service Agency

Margaret Williamson, RAC F, P
Executive Director

Pro-Literacy Detroit
The Palms Building, Ste 410
2111 Woodward Ave.
Detroit, MI 48201

Telephone: 313-872-7720
Alternate:
Fax: 313-965-8441
Email: margaretw@proliteracydetroit.org  

 


 

Cassandra Woods, RAC F
President

Sister's Network, Inc.
Michigan Chief of Staff for Senator Carl Levin
16750 Shaftsbury
Detroit, MI 48201

Telephone: 313-226-6020
Fax: 313-226-6948
Email: Wwoodscb@aol.com